WPHA Elects 2007 Officers

Zoë Henderson of Dow AgroSciences is elected new chairperson.

Published on: Oct 25, 2006

The Western Plant Health Association has elected new board members and officers for 2007. The organization also presented service awards to a couple of its members during its annual meeting held near San Diego.

WPHA represents the crop protection and fertilizer manufacturers, biotechnology providers, and agricultural retailers in California, Arizona, and Hawaii.

WPHA officers elected included Zoë Henderson of Dow AgroSciences as chairperson; Kent Johnson of Ag Production Co. as vice chairman; Barry Powell of CALAMCO as secretary/treasurer; and Bill Hume of DuPont and Steve Gillette of PotashCorp as executive committee members.

"My involvement with WPHA has been a wonderful personal growth experience as I have had the opportunity to work with many awesome industry leaders," Henderson told the membership gathered in La Jolla. "Our goal is to continue to support the vibrant and progressive agricultural industry in the West which helps feed the growing needs of the world."

The following individuals were elected for three-year terms on the WPHA board of directors: Neil Budge of Crompton Corp., Bill Hume of DuPont, Chris Simoni of J.R. Simplot Co., Steve Mansfield of H.J. Baker & Bros., Barry Powell of CALAMCO, Jack Wackerman of Haifa NutriTech, Tom Beardsley of Beardsley & Son, Barbara LeVake of Trical, Gordon Miller of Western Farm Service, and Chris Moudry of Basin Fertilizer and Chemical Co.

Each year at the annual meeting WPHA presents awards to individuals who demonstrated outstanding service to the industry and association. This year's Integrity Award went to Alice Inderbitzin of CALAMCO based in Stockton; and the WPHA Outstanding Member award was given to Jay Yost of Independent Agribusiness Professionals based in Fresno.