USDA Adds More Counties In Dakotas To Disaster List

Agency also extends emergency grazing of CRP till Nov. 30.

Published on: Sep 5, 2012

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack recently announced a two-month extension for emergency grazing on Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) acres. The extension runs through Nov. 30. No additional CRP rental payment reduction will be imposed.

The extension applies to general CRP practices and producers must submit a request to their Farm Service Agency county office indicating the acreage to be grazed.
The extension does not apply to emergency haying of CRP. Nor does the extension apply to the following practices: CP8A – Grass Waterway-Non-easement; CP23 – Wetland Restoration; CP23A – Wetland Restoration-Non-Floodplain; CP27 – Farmable Wetlands Pilot Wetland; CP28 – Farmable Wetlands Pilot Buffer; CP37 – Duck Nesting Habitat; and CP41 – FWP Flooded Prairie Wetlands.

More S.D. counties are declared drought disaster areas.
More S.D. counties are declared drought disaster areas.
The Secretary also recently designated 21 counties in South Dakota as primary natural disaster areas. Because of this designation, six counties in North Dakota, including Bowman, Adams, Sioux, Emmons, Dickey and Sargent, are contiguous to a primary natural disaster area and qualify for low interest emergency loans for eligible producers.

USDA's continuing efforts to add feed to the marketplace benefits all livestock producers, including dairy, during this drought. Expanded haying and grazing on CRP acres, along with usage of cover crops as outlined last week by the Secretary, has begun providing much needed feed to benefit all livestock, including dairy.

Source: USDA