Stock Shows Ready for January Competition

When the weather gets cold, it is livestock show time in some communities.

Published on: Jan 12, 2010
There are plenty of opportunities to see some stock show action during January on the Rolling Plains of Texas.

The 2010 Baylor County Livestock Show is Jan. 21-23 at Seymour, Texas.

For more information on the Baylor County event, call Brad Easterling, Baylor County AgriLife Extension Service agent at Seymour at 940-889-5581, or FAX to 940-889-2258. You can also reach Easterling by E-mail at breasterling@ag.tamu.edu.

Meanwhile, the Childress County Livestock Show is Jan. 16 at Childress, Texas. Lonnie Jenschke, AgriLife Extension agent, has more information on the show at 940-937-2351, or FAX 940-937-0326, or E-mail to ljenschke@ag.tamu.edu.

The annual Foard County Livestock Show is Jan. 22-23 at Crowell, Texas.  Seth Manney has more information at 940-684-1919, or you can FAX 940-684-1947.

The Hardeman County Livestock Show is Jan. 30 at Quanah, Texas. You can contact Hardeman County Extension Agent Steven Sparkman at 940-663-6301 or FAX 940-663-5989 for more on the county show. Or you can reach Sparkman by E-mail at sdsparkman@ag.tamu.edu.

Sparkman notes the local Quanah Project show precedes the countywide event on Jan. 16, and the local Chillicothe show also is Jan. 16. The contact information numbers are the same for both.

The Haskell County show is Jan. 14-16 at Haskell, Texas and Wes Utley has more information at 940-864-2658 or fwutley@ag.tamu.edu.

The Kent County Livestock Show is Jan. 15-16 at Clairemont, Texas and Jay Kingston has more at 806-237-3751.

Knox County Livestock Show competition is Jan. 15-16 at Knox City, Texas. Call Anthony Munoz for more at 940-459-2651 or E-mail to ajmunoz@ag.tamu.edu.

The Stonewall County Livestock Show is Jan. 15-16 at Aspermont, Texas and Jason Miller has more on that at 940-989-3510 or jbmiller@ag.tamu.edu.

Young County Junior Livestock Show runs Jan. 20-23 at Graham, Texas, and Brad Morris can be reached for more at 940-549-0737 or at jmorrison@ag.tamu.edu.