Reps Avoid Expiration Of Bush Tax Cuts: How Ca-Va Reps Voted

Taxes won't automatically increase, spending cuts not implemented.

Published on: Jan 8, 2013

A late night vote in the U.S. House of Representative on New Year's Day has averted what many over the last few months referred to as "going over the Fiscal Cliff."

The vote kept temporary tax cuts enacted during the George W. Bush Administration in place. If the vote had not passed it would have, in effect, resulted in an across-the-board tax increase for nearly every worker in the U.S., while also enacting automatic across-the-board spending cuts.

The measure that passed in the House (and that had already passed in the Senate) will only raise taxes for top earners, including individuals making $400,000 a year and families earning $450,000 a year. That adds up to about 1% of American households.

Reps Avoid Expiration Of Bush Tax Cuts: How Ca-Va Reps Voted
Reps Avoid Expiration Of Bush Tax Cuts: How Ca-Va Reps Voted

There were virtually no cuts to spending in the bill although there were some significant spending increases to some programs, including spending for the national Amtrak train system.

Although many tax increases on the middle-income citizens were avoided, the Social Security payroll tax cuts enacted during the Bush Administration were allowed to expire. That means payroll Social Security taxes will increase from 4.2% to 6.2%.

The vote was hotly contested in recent months and the new legislation in its final language was rolled out in the last minute in the House, with the effect that representatives had little or no time to study details in the legislation, or offer amendments.

The final vote in the House was 257-167.

Following is the way House congressmen, representing citizens in Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina voted. A vote of yes signifies support for the legislation:

Votes of Virginia delegation in U.S. House:
Rob Wittman (R) – No
Scott Rigell (R) – No
Robert Scott (D) – No
Randy Forbes (R) – No
Robert Hurt (R) –No
Bob Goodlatte (R) – No
Eric Cantor (R) – No
Jim Moran (D) – No
Morgan Griffith (R) –No
Frank Wolf  (R)- No
Gerry Connolly (D) - Yes

Votes of North Carolina delegation in U.S. House:
G.K. Butterfield, (D) – Yes
Howard Coble, (R) – Yes
Renee Ellmers, (R) – No
Virginia Foxx, (R) – No
Larry Kissell, (D) – Yes
Walter Jones Jr., (R) – No
Mike McIntyre, (D) –  No
Patrick McHenry, (R) – No
Brad Miller, (D) – No
Sue Myrick, (R) – No
David Price, (D) – Yes
Heath Shuler, (D) – Yes
Mel Watt, (D) – Yes

Votes of South Carolina delegation in U.S. House:
Rep Tim Scott (R) – No
Joe Wilson (R) –No
Jeff Duncan (R) – No
Trey Gowdy (R) – No
Mick Mulvaney (R) –No
James Clyburn, (D) Yes