Pork Producers Elect Leader

Group also honor supporters. Tom J. Bechman

Published on: Feb 13, 2004

The Indiana Pork Producers Association (IPPA) has a new president to lead them through 2004. He is Terry Vanlaningham, Mentone, Ind.

Vanlaningham is hardly a stranger to leadership or the pork industry. He currently manages a 1,200 sow, farrow-to-finish operation for Creighton Brothers, Warsaw, Ind. Previously, he spent time as a hog buyer for Hormel Company. Plus, he and his brother have experience in operating a purebred Yorkshire swine herd.

One of his major duties will be overseeing the controversial pork checkoff. Turned down in a national vote and later declared unconstitutional by a Michigan court, it remains in effect since the ruling is under appeal. But even IPPA admits that the future of the national check-off program is uncertain at best.

Despite that background, Vanlaningham hopes to help guide IPPA by planning a course for the future. The uncertainty of the checkoff may make planning harder, but it doesn't make it impossible, he notes.

IPPA also appointed directors to their board that works with Vanlaningham during the year. Besides himself, other appointees were: Levi Huffman, Lafayette; Ron Orebaugh, Muncie; Don Reiboldt, West College Corner; and Alan Wilhoite, Lebanon. Wilhoite also serves IPPA this year as president-elect.

IPPA also used the occasion of its annual meeting to recognize stalwart supporters of their organization. In the hog producer division, the awardee for meritorious service was Jaw Hawley, Kirklin, Ind. Hawley operates his own farrow-to-finish hog operation, and serves on both state and national hog association committees.

From industry, IPPA recognized Joe Pearson, Hartford City, and Mike Veenhuizen, Greenwood.

Pearson currently serves as deputy commissioner of agriculture. In that role, he takes an active position in promoting the agenda of pork producers.

Veenhuizen is an environmental consultant. Hi is also president of Livestock Engineering Solutions, Inc. That puts him in an excellent position to be aware of what's happening inside the industry.

Congratulations to the new officers, directors and award winners.