Ohio's Joslin Elected ASA president

Steiner picked to be national treasurer.

Published on: Dec 7, 2009
The Board of Directors of the American Soybean Association has confirmed Rob Joslin from Sidney, Ohio as President, and Johnny Dodson from Halls, Tennessee as Chairman. Board members also elected Alan Kemper from Lafayette, Indiana, to serve as First Vice President, an office that places Kemper in line to be ASA President next year.

Also elected were Ron Kindred from Atlanta, Illinois, as Secretary, and Joe Steiner from Mason, Ohio, as Treasurer. Four Vice Presidents also were elected: Randy Mann from Auburn, Kentucky; Ray Gaesser from Corning, Iowa; Steve Wellman from Syracuse, Nebraska; and Danny Murphy from Canton, Mississippi.

These soybean producer-leaders form the nine-member ASA Executive Committee. Elections were held on Thursday, Dec. 3, during ASA's winter Board of Director's meeting in Saint Louis.

"Legislative challenges have never been greater," Joslin says. "There is an urgent need to extend the biodiesel tax incentive so soybean farmers can continue to benefit from the 25 cent per bushel price advance generated by the increased demand for soybean oil.

"One of my top organizational goals is to develop new recruiting methods that lead to increased membership in the ASA. As the policy advocate for U.S. soybean farmers, a strong grassroots membership is essential to the success of the ASA and the entire U.S. soybean industry."

ASA represents all U.S. soybean farmers on domestic and international issues of importance to the soybean industry. ASA's advocacy efforts are made possible through the voluntary membership in ASA by over 22,500 farmers in 31 states where soybeans are grown.