FFA Selects National Ag Ambassador Team

Twenty college students set to complete 30 hours of ag advocacy

Published on: Sep 6, 2013

The National FFA Organization this week selected 20 FFA members from 14 states to serve as 2013-14 National Collegiate Agriculture Ambassadors.

All 20 FFA members underwent specialized training last month in Greensboro, N.C., to learn how to best advocate for agriculture and agricultural education throughout the nation. Each ambassador must complete a minimum of 30 hours of presentations to businesses, schools, community groups and more.

Team members will also facilitate seminars and workshops to audiences of all ages interested in learning more about the agriculture industry.

National FFA said the ambassadors help increase public understanding of the food, fiber and natural resources industry; promote awareness of the scientific, economical and mechanical resources needed to produce a safe and reliable food source; increase awareness of career opportunities in the agriculture industry for collegiate students and the general public and help provide growth opportunities in leadership, facilitation and the agricultural industry for the collegiate agriculture ambassador team.

Twenty college students set to complete 30 hours of ag advocacy
Twenty college students set to complete 30 hours of ag advocacy

Students selected for the team include:

FLORIDA: James Barringer and Elise Stoddard, both of New Smyma Beach; MINNESOTA: Sara Colombe of Little Falls; ARKANSAS: Ashton Dawson of Bentonville and L. Jade Halliburton of Crossett; ILLINOIS: Jacob Dickey of Gibson City, Justice Plummer of Chicago and Nicole Zeien of Belvidere; MISSOURI: Cara Fordyce of Kidder and Courtney Spencer of Aurora; NORTH CAROLINA: Beverly Hampton of Mount Ulla; PENNSYLVANIA: K. Janae Herr of Lancaster and Carolyn Lawrence of Chambersburg; IOWA: Katie Johnson of Milford; MONTANA: Karoline Rose of Bozeman; WISCONSIN: Sam Tauchen of Bonduel; CALIFORNIA: Kiah Twisselman of Santa Margarita; KANSAS: Alexis Wingerson of Smith Center; RHODE ISLAND: Lauren Woloohojian of West Greenwich; and UTAH: Katherine Nye of Delta.

Those selected as ambassadors were chosen in early July after submitting an application to the program and participating in an interview process. Each ambassador will serve a year in their role and receive a $1,000 scholarship for their efforts that can be used toward tuition and other school expenses.

The 2013-14 National Collegiate Ambassador program is sponsored by Syngenta, BASF and Cargill.

Source: FFA