Nebraska Soybean Board Seeks Candidates

Elections will be held in Districts, 2, 4 and 8.

Published on: Jan 13, 2010
There will be elections this year for three of the nine district director positions on the Nebraska Soybean Board.

Soybean producers in Districts 2, 4 and 8 are invited to run for election to the Nebraska Soybean Board by filing a candidacy petition by the May 14 deadline.

The election of directors will be conducted via direct-mail ballots and candidate information will be provided to all producers residing within the district in which an election is to be held.

NSB directors receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses incurred while carrying out board business.

Three-year terms for these seats begin Oct. 1, 2010, and end Sept. 30, 2013.

Seats open for producer election in 2010 are:

District 2: Burt, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Stanton, Thurston and Wayne counties.

District 4: Boone, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk and York counties.

District 8: Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Box Butte, Brown, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy,  Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Howard, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Morrill, Perkins, Phelps, Red Willow, Rock, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thomas, Valley and Wheeler counties.

Candidates must be residents of Nebraska, at least 21 years of age, and soybean producers in Nebraska for at least 5 previous years.

Candidates must collect the signatures of 50 soybean producers in their district using an official Nebraska Soybean Board Candidacy Petition and the petition to the Nebraska Soybean Board office on or before May 14 to be eligible for placement on the ballot.

To obtain a candidacy petition, contact Victor Bohuslavsky at the Nebraska Soybean Board by calling 402-432-5720 or emailing

The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one-half of 1% times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. 

Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, domestic and foreign marketing and in seeking new uses for soybeans and soybean products.