Nebraska Soybean Board Seeking Candidates In Three Districts

Deadline to apply for board elections is April 15; winners will serve three-year term.

Published on: Mar 15, 2013

If you've had an interest in serving Nebraska's soybean producers, here's your chance. The Nebraska Soybean Board will hold elections in three of its nine districts.

Deadline to file a candidacy petition is April 15.

Elections will occur in Districts 2, 4 and 8, according to Vic Bohuslavsky, executive director of the board. The election of board members will be conducted via direct-mail ballots and candidate information will be provided to all producers residing within the district in which an election is to be held.

Board members receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses incurred while carrying out board business, Bohuslavsky says. Those elected will a three-year term that begins Oct. 1.

Nebraska Soybean Board Seeking Candidates In Three Districts
Nebraska Soybean Board Seeking Candidates In Three Districts

Positions open are:

District 2, which covers Burt, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Stanton, Thurston and Wayne counties.

District 4, which consists of Boone, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk and York counties.

District 8, which covers Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Box Butte, Brown, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy,  Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Howard, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Morrill, Perkins, Phelps, Red Willow, Rock, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thomas, Valley and Wheeler counties.

Candidates for Nebraska Soybean Board seats must be a resident of Nebraska, 21 years of age or older and must have been a soybean producer in Nebraska for at least five previous years.

Candidates must collect the signatures of 50 soybean producers in their district using an official Nebraska Soybean Board Candidacy Petition. The petition is to be returned to the Nebraska Soybean Board office on or before April 15, 2013, to be eligible for placement on the ballot.

To obtain a candidacy petition, contact Victor Bohuslavsky at the Nebraska Soybean Board by calling 402-432-5720.