Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board Seeks Applicants

May 15 is the deadline to file application with the board.

Published on: Mar 27, 2013

Three districts within the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board are open for appointment by the governor. The appointments will be for directors that represent Districts 2 and 3, as well as the at-large seat.

The term for the members currently filling these seats will expire July 1, 2013. The filing deadline is no later than 5 p.m., May 15, 2013.

District 2 includes the counties of Knox, Antelope, Pierce, Madison, Boone, Platte, Nance, Merrick, Polk, Hamilton, York, Adams, Clay, Fillmore, Webster, Nuckolls and Thayer.

District 3 includes the counties of Keya Paha, Boyd, Brown, Rock, Holt, Blaine, Loup, Garfield, Wheeler, Custer, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, Howard, Dawson, Buffalo, Hall, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney, Furans, Harlan and Franklin.

Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board Seeks Applicants
Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board Seeks Applicants

Sorghum growers interested in appointment to fill the open seats can place their name on a candidacy list by submitting to the board a completed application for gubernatorial appointment, a letter or statement of interest in serving on the board and two letters of endorsement from grain sorghum growers.

In addition, they must provide documentation substantiating qualification to serve as a member of the board such as sales receipts, warehouse receipts, government loan documentation, or acreage certification). Qualified candidates include those who are citizens of Nebraska, are at least 21 years of age, and derive a portion of their income from growing grain sorghum.

Applications for appointment can be obtained from the Nebraska governor's office by writing Kathleen Dolezal, staff assistant for boards and commissions, Nebraska Governor's Office, State Capitol, Box 94848, Lincoln, NE 68509-4848, 402.471-1971; or the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board, P.O. Box 94982, Lincoln, NE 68509, 402-471-4276; or email: