Montana Farmers Nearing March 17 NAP Sign-Up Deadline

Closing date for non-insurable crops a hedge against losses.

Published on: Feb 18, 2014

USDA Farm Service Agency Montana State Executive Director Bruce Nelson says farmers in the state face a closing date for most non-insurable crop insurances on March 17 if growers spring plant. Forage crops are included, including grass for hay and grazing.

Application deadline for the 2014 Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance (NAP) program does not apply to honey and value loss crops. The honey insurance closing date was in December, 2013, and value loss crops faced a September, 2013, deadline.

Eligible producers can apply for coverage at their local FSA office using form CCC-471, the application for coverage. and pay an application fee before the closing date.

The service fee is the lesser of $250 per crop or $750 per producer per administrative county, not to exceed $1,875for a producer with farming interests in multiple counties.

Montana Farmers Nearing March 17 NAP Sign-Up Deadline
Montana Farmers Nearing March 17 NAP Sign-Up Deadline

For continuous coverage applications, producers are reminded that they must pay the applicable fee and sign the CCC-471 form before the sales closing date.

Nelson also notes that a major change in policy of NAP coverage will impact some of the Montana counties, with approval of exemption of specific counties to allow use of NAP coverage for nonirrigated corn intended for grain and silage beginning this year.

Prior to this last month, if catastrophic risk protection  level of crop insurance was available to any crop, type and intended use in the country, then NAP would not be offered for those crops within that county for any practice.

That procedure was recently amended to allow states to request exemptions to this provision.

Effective earlier this month, nonirrigated corn intended for grain and nonirrigated corn for silage (forage) is available for NAP coverage this year in the following counties not approved for such coverage:
•Big Horn
•Judith Basin
•Powder River