Monsanto Announces Farmers Mom Finalists

Public will vote to choose the winner.

Published on: Apr 23, 2010

Monsanto Company says five outstanding women have been selected as regional winners of its - America's Farmers Mom of the Year 2010 - program. Each regional winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize and advance for the chance to be honored as the first national winner of  America's Farmers Mom of the Year, and receive an additional $2,500.

The nominees are: from the Northeast Region: Sue Roohr of Cookstown, New Jersey; the Southeast Region: Erika Forsbach of Savannah, Tennessee; from the Midwest Region: Cheryl Day of Cerro Gordo, Illinois; the Southwest Region: Carol Cowan of Watonga, Oklahoma; and representing the West Region: Caroline Luiz, Yreka, California. Monsanto's Tami Craig Schilling believes this contest really illustrates how farm moms and wives are a vital part of the American agriculture success story.

Chris Wilson, President of American-Agri-Women, says the list of nominations was very diverse, which is a testament to the numerous ways women make their mark in agriculture. The public will determine the national winner by casting votes online at Online voting is open through May 3. The national winner will be announced May 4, just before Mother's Day.