Minnesota SWCD Names Eight Conservation Award Finalists

The State Conservationist of the Year will be chosen from the eight finalists and recognized at the convention's Tuesday luncheon.

Published on: Oct 22, 2013

The Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts has named the finalists for the state's 2013 Outstanding Conservationist Award.

The winner will be announced at the 76th annual MASWCD Annual Meeting, set for Dec. 1-3 at the Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South in Bloomington.

The award program recognizes farm families, individuals, conservation organizations, and other groups for their accomplishments in implementing conservation practices and improving Minnesota's natural resources.

The program is sponsored by MASWCD, with support from The Farmer magazine.

The finalists are:

Northwest, Area 1: Dave and Dorothy Adams, Richville, East Otter Tail SWCD

Minnesota SWCD Names Eight Conservation Award Finalists
Minnesota SWCD Names Eight Conservation Award Finalists

West Central, Area 2: Twin Eagle Dairy, Pat and Jody Lunemann, Clarissa, Todd SWCD

Northeast, Area 3: Greg and Tammy Anderson, Princeton, Mille Lacs SWCD

Metro, Area 4: Hazelden Foundation, Center City, Chisago SWCD

Southwest, Area 5: The Jensen Sisters – Norma Schlemmer, Linda Nesburg, and Diane Jensen, Redwood Falls Township, Redwood SWCD

South Central, Area 6: City of Olivia, Olivia, Renville SWCD

Southeast, Area 7: Ralph Lentz, Lake City, Wabasha SWCD

North Central, Area 8: John and Lissa Sumption, Longville, Cass SWCD

The MASWCD annual convention includes a trade show highlighting the latest programs, products and technologies in conservation from partners across the state.

For more information, please contact the MASWCD office at 651-690-9028 or visit www.maswcd.org

Convention registration forms are due in the MASWCD office by Nov. 20. To take advantage of special group lodging rate, hotel reservations must be made by Nov. 12.