Master Farmer Award Seeks Missouri's Best

Recognition, young farmer mentoring opportunities and $1,000 cash prizes await winners.

Published on: Jun 17, 2010

Do you know a top-notch farmer who deserves recognition? The Missouri Master Farmer Award program is now taking nominations and applications for its 2010-2011 class. Four winners will be selected and will earn $1,000 cash prizes and industry-wide recognition.

Coordinators of the award program are Missouri Ruralist magazine and University of Missouri Extension, with support from gold sponsor FCS Financial.

"FCS Financial is proud to be the gold sponsor for Missouri's Master Farmer Program," said Daryl Oldvader, FCS Financial CEO. "This program offers Missouri another valuable opportunity to transfer the intellectual wealth of our top farmers to the next generation."

The Master Farmer Award program is created for all Missourians involved in agriculture – crop farmers, livestock producers, vegetable and fruit growers, tree farmers and vineyard owners. The judging committee is looking for the best managers with innovative ideas, sound business skills, financial recordkeeping, soil and water conservation practices, agricultural leadership, and community service.

Master Farmer candidates should also be willing to mentor young farmers. "The long-range goal is to build a Master Farmer-young farmer mentoring program," says Jerilyn Johnson, editor, Missouri Ruralist. "It's important to build connections and create new opportunities to keep the next generation engaged in agriculture."

The Master Farmer Award is the nation's longest running agriculture award program. States with established award programs include Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, West Virginia, and now Missouri.

The nomination deadline is Aug. 2, 2010. An application is available in pdf or Word doc format HERE. Web links and nomination forms also are available at MU Extension Centers and at FCS Financial offices throughout the state.

Send applications to:
Missouri Master Farmer
220 Mumford Hall
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211

Award recipients will be notified in late August. If you have questions about the process, contact Ron Plain at 573-882-0134;
Jerilyn Johnson, Missouri Ruralist editor, at 816-586-5555;