Grams Leads Corn Producers; Boswell Elected by Soybean Growers

Action came a combined annual meeting of the two commodity groups in Seward.

Published on: Dec 16, 2013

Soybean action
At its annual meeting in Seward, the Nebraska Soybean Association elected Ken Boswell of Shickley as president. He served as vice president last year.

Also elected were Dennis Fujan, Prague, vice president; Nathan Dorn, Hickman, secretary, and Robert Johnson, Clearwater, as treasurer. Past president, Geoff Ruth of Rising City, will serve as the chairman of NSA. 

Ruth, Joel Lipp of Laurel and Scott Richert of Gresham were all re-elected to another term on the board of directors.  

This year's recipient of the Nebraska Soybean Association Soybean Promoter Award is Don McCabe, Editor of the Nebraska Farmer. This award is presented annually to recognize an individual who has shown outstanding leadership and support to the betterment of the soybean industry in Nebraska.

NSA members, during its resolutions session, voted to:

•Encourage producers and industry stakeholders to contact EPA during the public comment period (that ends in late January) to demonstrate the benefits of setting the biomass-based diesel Required Volume Obligations at a level in the final rule that is not below the amount produced in 2013. That amount is expected to reach 1.7 billion gallons of biodiesel.

•Support reduction of assessed agricultural land value in Nebraska from 75% of market value to 65% of market value.