Got Dairy Cows? Take in N.D. "Cow College"

Sessions set for five sites across the state beginning today.

Published on: Jan 28, 2008

The 15th annual Dairy Cow College educational series will be held at five sites throughout North Dakota in January and February.

This program is designed for dairy producers and their service providers. It's a joint effort of the North Dakota State University Extension Service and Midwest Dairy Association.

Presenters will discuss carbon sequestration, methane digesters, high feed costs, feed efficiency, dairy checkoff highlights and joining your milk producers' association.

"Amid unprecedented farm gate milk prices received by dairy producers in 2007, escalating feed value has pushed the cost to produce milk to record high levels," says J.W. Schroeder, NDSU Extension dairy specialist and associate professor in NDSU's Animal Science Department. "This year we will be discussing feed and manure management from the perspective of improving feed efficiency and updating producers on emerging issues in manure management."

Dates, sites and Extension agents to contact for more information are:
Jan. 28 - Emmons County Courthouse auditorium, Linton; Doug Bichler, (701) 254-4811, douglas.bichler@ndsu.edu, or Bill Klein, (701) 288-3465, william.klein@ndsu.edu  
Jan. 29 – Morton County Fairgrounds youth building, New Salem; Jackie Buckley, (701) 667-3340, jackie.buckley@ndsu.edu, or Rick Schmidt, (701) 794-8748, rick.schmidt@ndsu.edu  
Jan. 30 – Elks Lodge, Dickinson; Kurt Froelich, (701) 456-7665, kurt.froelich@ndsu.edu, or David Twist, (701) 764-5593, david.twist@ndsu.edu  
Jan. 31 – Sleep Inn, Minot; Emily Tescher-Johnston, (701) 857-6444, emily.tescher-johnston@ndsu.edu, or Raquel Dugan-Dibble, (701) 537-5405, r.dugan-dibble@ndsu.edu  
Feb. 1 – Gladstone Inn and Suites, Jamestown; Tom Olson, (701) 252-9030, thomas.olson@ndsu.edu, or Randy Grueneich, (701) 845-8528, randy.grueneich@ndsu.edu  

All programs will run from 11 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. local time, with registration and coffee at 10:30 a.m. The program is free of charge. Preregistration is not required. The Midwest Dairy Association will provide lunch.

Presenters for this year's program include Schroeder; Ron Wiederholt, nutrient management specialist at NDSU's Carrington Research Extension Center; Teresa Dvorak, livestock nutrient management specialist at NDSU's Dickinson Research Extension Center; and Char Heer, Midwest Dairy Association program manager. Other program events include an American Dairy Association district meeting, a Milk Producers Association of North Dakota membership drive and a question-and-answer session.

For additional information, contact your local county Extension office or Schroeder at (701) 231-7663 or jw.schroeder@ndsu.edu.  

Source: NDSU Extension Communications