Farm Bureau Awards Rep. Lucas 'Golden Plow'

Congressman awarded for work on 2012 Farm Bill

Published on: Feb 19, 2013

American Farm Bureau Federation President Bob Stallman presented Rep. Frank Lucas, R-Okla., with AFBF's "Golden Plow" award on Monday during Oklahoma Farm Bureau's Annual Leadership Conference in Oklahoma City. The Golden Plow is the highest recognition the organization grants members of Congress.

The Oklahoma Farm Bureau nominated Lucas, Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, for the award because of his critical work on the farm bill in 2012 and legislation to keep agricultural exports growing, as well as helping to ensure reviews of regulations affecting agriculture.

"Chairman Lucas understands agriculture because it is a part of his life," Stallman said. "He shares a deep understanding of and a true passion for agriculture. From his efforts to pass a farm bill, to his ardent support of conservation programs, there is never a doubt about Chairman Lucas' commitment to America's farm and ranch families. We look forward to working with him during the 113th Congress."

Congressman awarded for work on 2012 Farm Bill
Congressman awarded for work on 2012 Farm Bill

Lucas was first elected to the House of Representatives in 1994 and is currently serving his 11th term. Lucas represents Oklahoma's Third Congressional District and is a fifth-generation Oklahoman whose family has lived and farmed in the state for more than 100 years.

"I am honored and pleased to accept this award," Lucas said. "Throughout my service in Congress, I have worked hard to be a strong voice for American agriculture because I know how important it is to our state and nation. I have experienced firsthand the devastating effects of drought and appreciate the many challenges farmers endure to make certain we have a stable food and fiber supply. I will continue to work to maintain our investment in rural America and ensure that poor farm policy is not one of the challenges farmers face."

AFBF's Golden Plow award recognizes members of Congress for distinguished agricultural leadership and support of Farm Bureau policies.