DNR Adds Four Counties To Burning Restrictions Lista

Cook, Koochiching, Lake and St. Louis counties were adding to a lengthy list of counties who are under burning restrictions due to dry conditions.

Published on: May 16, 2013

Four more counties were recently added by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources to the burning restriction list because receding snow cover has created conditions conducive to wildfire.

The restrictions took effect at 8 a.m., Monday, May 13, for Cook, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis counties.

Additional counties under burning restrictions are:

Aitkin, Anoka, Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Dakota, Douglas, Hennepin, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Roseau, Sherburne, Stearns, St. Louis, Todd, Wadena, Washington, Wright  and the part of Polk County that is south and east of County Road 6 from the Manhomen County line to state Highway 92 east to the Clearwater County line.

DNR Adds Four Counties To Burning Restrictions Lista
DNR Adds Four Counties To Burning Restrictions Lista

The state has had numerous wildfires so far this spring, but most have been small, according to the DNR.

The agency says that while debris burning is required to be curtailed, the use of campfires, if smaller than 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height, are allowed.

DNR foresters point out that fire conditions change quickly. If conditions warrant, they may restrict local burning on short notice.

For more information and maps, and to check fire conditions click here.