Darryl Brinkmann Receives Lifetime Achievement Award from ASA

ISA nominated Brinkmann. IFB President Phil Nelson backed the nomination.

Published on: Mar 9, 2009

Darryl Brinkmann accepted the 2009 American Soybean Association Lifetime Achievement Award (Association Focus) at Commodity Classic, held in Grapevine, Texas in late February.

Brinkmann, a soybean grower from Carlyle, has dedicated nearly 20 years of his life to serving Illinois soybean farmers.

"Darryl's involvement in state and national agricultural organizations has helped lead our industry down the right path," says David Hartke, soybean grower from Teutopolis, Ill. and current chairman of Illinois Soybean Association (ISA). "His dedication to soybeans and the development of new uses is hard to surpass, especially when it comes to biodiesel."

Darryl Brinkmann's dedication to soybean farmers includes serving as president of ISA, vice-president of ASA and chairman of the National Biodiesel Board. Brinkmann still serves as ASA's representative on the NBB board and as a director for the Illinois Farm Bureau.

In a letter of support written about Brinkmann, NBB CEO Joe Jobe noted, "Darryl exemplifies that tradition of leadership in a way that should make America's soybean farmers proud. His humble and understated manner belies a record of accomplishment that has helped give birth to an industry."

Johnny Dodson (left), ASA President, from Halls, Tenn. presented Darryl Brinkmann with the ASA's Lifetime Achievement Award.