ASA Announces New Officers

Officers for 2010 confirmed by board.

Published on: Dec 4, 2009

Rob Joslin of Sidney, Ohio has been confirmed as president of the American Soybean Association for 2010 and Johnny Dodson of Halls, Tenn. as chairman. The Board of Directors also elected Alan Kemper of Lafayette, Ind. as First Vice President, which puts him in line to be ASA President in 2011.


During ASA's winter Board of Director's meeting in St. Louis, Mo. the Board also elected Ron Kindred of Atlanta, Ill. and Joe Steiner of Mason, Ohio to serve as secretary and treasurer, repectively.


"Legislative challenges have never been greater," Joslin said. "There is an urgent need to extend the biodiesel tax incentive so soybean farmers can continue to benefit from the 25 cent per bushel price advance generated by the increased demand for soybean oil.


The Board also welcomed four new members who are James Andrew of Iowa, Dan Feige of South Dakota, Richard Wilkins of Delaware and Bruce Hill from Virgina. Retiring directors John Hoffman of Iowa, Dennis Jaeger of South Dakota, Joe Layton from Maryland and Charles Skalsky of Virginia were also recognized during the meeting.