A Masterful Job

Missouri Master Farmer Award program announces 2010-11 class and awards program.

Published on: Jan 7, 2011

The Missouri Master Farmer Award Program is proud to announce its 2010-11 class of winners. The Missouri Master Farmers are William "Bill" Masters of Cape Girardeau, Rick Rehmeier of Augusta and Gregory Wade of Stewartsville. 

Coordinators of the award program are Missouri Ruralist magazine and University of Missouri Extension. Gold sponsor FCS Financial funds the awards and educational program.

The Master Farmer Award recognizes farmers who work hard every day for better, more efficient methods of raising crops and livestock. Nominations are open to all Missourians involved in production agriculture. The judging committee selects the best managers with innovative ideas, business skills, financial recordkeeping, soil and water conservation practices, agricultural leadership, and community service.

Bill Masters
Bill Masters

"This program recognizes active farmers who have not only been successful in farming, but who are also assets to their communities and who can help guide young farmers," says Ron Plain, MU Extension agricultural economist.

Bill Masters is a managing partner at Masters Farm, a 180-cow commercial beef operation in southeast Missouri that specializes in marketing Show-Me-Select replacement heifers and finishing quality beef calves.

Rick Rehmeier is co-owner and manager of Rehmeier Farms, a swine and grain crop operation in east-central Missouri. He oversees a 1,000-sow farrow-to-finish operation and has been an active member and leader of the Missouri Pork Association and National Pork Producers Council.

Greg Wade is a managing partner at Wade Farms, which specializes in growing corn and soybeans in northwest Missouri. Greg is a board member of the Clinton County Soil Conservation Service and serves on the Farm Credit Services board of directors.

Rick Rehmeier
Rick Rehmeier

An awards banquet for the winners will be held Saturday evening, Feb. 19 at the 2011 Missouri Young Farmers/Young Farm Wives Convention. Each Master Farmer will receive a $1,000 cash prize and an award plaque. Also planned is an educational roundtable discussion with representatives from MYF-YFW and the audience. Ron Plain, MU Extension ag economist, will facilitate the roundtable on Sunday morning, Feb. 20.  All events are at Courtyard Marriott Hotel, Columbia.

The Master Farmer Award is the nation's longest running agriculture award program. States with established award programs include Missouri, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, and West Virginia.


 Greg Wade
Greg Wade

Read profiles on the Missouri Master Farmers in the January issue of Missouri Ruralist.