All 105 Kansas Counties In Drought Emergency

Governor's executive order allows withdrawal of water from state fishing lakes to help provide water for homes, livestock.

Published on: Jul 27, 2012

Farmers and ranchers need to keep open dialogue with their local County Emergency Boards as they continue to monitor crop conditions for losses that may have occurred due to drought, severe storms and hail throughout the State.

"As fields, pastures and stock ponds get drier in this drought, we must do everything in our power to assure farmers and ranchers have the ability to access all water and forage available to care for their crops and livestock," said Dale Rodman, Kansas Secretary of Agriculture. "This declaration takes an important step to provide an additional water source for livestock and going forward we will continue working with all stakeholders to help producers cope with and recover from this drought."

The State Fishing Lakes available for withdrawals for emergency declared counties include: Atchison, Barber, Brown, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Clark, Crawford, Goodman, Jewell, Kingman, Leavenworth, Lyon, Pottawatomie #1, Pottawatomie #2, McPherson, Miami, Mined Lands (Pits), Neosho, Osage, Ottawa, Saline, Scott, Shawnee, Sheridan, Washington, Wilson, and Woodson. 

This emergency drought declaration by the Governor also makes water available from Corps of Engineers reservoirs. Water for domestic and livestock use may be made available subject to a small permit fee of $20. Contact the KWO for requests and additional information.

The Governor's Drought Response Team will continue to watch the situation closely and work to minimize the effects the drought has on Kansans.

For more detailed information about current conditions, see the Kansas Climate Summary and Drought Report on the Kansas Water Office website at: