Recognize The Master Farmer In Your Life

Inside Dakota Ag

Nominate a farmer or rancher you know to be recognized as a Master Farmer. It's the longest running award program for farmers in the United States.

Published on: February 27, 2012

It’s time to nominate a farmer or rancher you know for the Dakota Farmer’s Master Farmer award.

Master Farmer is an award for men or women who are actively farming or ranching. It recognizes them for their farm or ranch management achievements and their involvement in their communities, schools, churches, industry groups or other organizations.

Each year, two farmers or ranchers from North Dakota and South Dakota are recognized as Master Farmers.

To download a nomination form, go to Click on Master Farmer in the middle of the page.

To have a nomination form mailed to you, call me at 701-361-1105, or send an email to

Send the completed form and letters of recommendation to Master Farmer, c/o Dakota Farmer, 6258 90th Ave. N., Glyndon, MN 56547

The deadline to enter nominations for 2012 is April 30. Judges will select honorees shortly thereafter.

“Honoring Master Farmers is a great tradition for Farm Progress,” says Willie Vogt, editorial director for Dakota Farmer and Farm Progress Companies. “Historically, these agricultural leaders in the community have also been innovators for a wide range of technologies. We’re looking forward to a long future honoring the Dakota’s best and brightest.”

Dakota Farmer began hosting the Master Farmer program in North Dakota and South Dakota three years ago. Previous honorees include:



Ron Alverson, Wentworth, S.D.

Henry Glen Roghair, Okaton, S.D.

Jay and Cara Myers, Colfax, N.D.

Brian Richard O'Toole, Crystal, N.D.

Steve Strege, Lidgerwood, N.D.

Jeremy Wilson, Jamestown, N.D.



Bob Metz, West Browns Valley, S.D.

Paul Shubeck, Beresford, S.D.

James Frauenberg, LaMoure, N.D.

David Muehler, Hankinson, N.D.



Ralph Holzwarth, Gettysburg, S.D.

Mark Steigelmeier, Selby S.D.

Terry Wanzek, Cleveland, N.D.

Les Koll, Wimbledon, N.D.